Windward Islands Games to tip off in Saint Lucia

Windward Islands Games to tip off in Saint Lucia

(SNO) – Saint Lucia is set to host the 2018 edition of the Canadian Bank Note (CBN)/WINLOTT Windward Islands School Games from this weekend at several venues in the south of the island including the George Odlum Stadium.

A team of 62 will compete in athletics, basketball (boys and girls), football (boys only), netball (girls only) and volleyball (boys and girls) between Sunday, July 22 and Sunday, July 29.

Athletic specialists include 18-year-old Commonwealth Youth Games 200m finalist Kimani Alphonse, who could take over from Allana Paul as the top points winner for Team Saint Lucia.

The team also comprises the versatile young Joy Edward, accomplished netballer Aaliyah Estephor, Melika Destang, Mya Hippolyte, multiple CARIFTA competitor Kamillah Monroque, and Deyette Djerel.

Among the boys, distance champion Tarrik Xavier leads the way, along with schoolmate Asa Francis, jumper Kelly Charles, Ethan James, Armani Modeste, Jayeed Norbal, Shelton St. Rose and Khailan Vitalis.

Five girls are selected for basketball – Nikaela Khodra, Mia George, Jermiah Evariste (who will also play netball, and probably participate in athletics as well), Cleo Jn Baptiste and Romia Joseph.

The seven-member boys basketball team will include Jn Pierre Frederick, who is likely to figure in the athletics competition as well, along with Noah Boyde, Kivani Emile, Garrick George, Amani Raymond, Celsus Leonce, and Keon Allen.

The biggest representation will be in boys’ football. The 14-member team will see a number of college-bound student athletes involved, including Djal Augustin of Anse la Raye, 1987 All Stars, and Entrepot Secondary.

Other footballers are Deshawn Roserie, George Louis, Dillon Fanis, Chadam Seraphin, Julian Fernest, Bryant Polius, twins Gabriel and Daniel Biscette, Al Charles, Edd Fred, Oneal Edward, Kimani Jeremie and Morgan William.

The netball team will boast the talents of Marchand’s and Corinth Secondary’s 15-year-old Dasha Eugene, who starred for the national team as they won the OECS/ECCB Under-23 title in St. Kitts and Nevis this month.

Also featured will be Syanne Allain, Darcelle Francis, Kianna Nelson, and Megan Nestor, all presently playing for their schools in Jamaica, as well as Bernet Joseph and the experienced Tanny William.

Volleyball will see Matilda Angeloni, Derelle Dubois, Chenoa Evans, Kait and Kaitlyn Gaillard, Gabrielle Hunte, and Merkijay Jean competing for the girls title.

The boys will showcase Sherwin Edward, Noah Gaspard, Joshua Hinkson, Levi Leonce, Claudinus Pelage, Kernel and Kyhim Remy.

The Games get underway on Sunday, July 22 from midday at the George Odlum Stadium with the athletics competition, followed by football, girls basketball and volleyball at three venues on Monday.

Team officials are manager Cornelia Shirley-Ann Lubin, athletics coaches Cuthbert Modeste and Makeba Alcide, netball coach Shem Maxwell, volleyball coach Denis St Claire, football coach Vance Vitalis, basketball coach Ron Du Murville, and Germain Thomas.


No posts to display


    • I will follow up with the Minister's remarks on the subject. To the effect that the asbestos is in the roof, and the athletes will be far from the asbestos. So no problem.


Comments are closed.