UWI honours Dr. Hunte

UWI honours Dr. Hunte
St Lucian Hunte is the former president of the WICB.
St. Lucian Hunte is the former president of the WICB.

Former government minister and former president of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), Dr. Julian Hunte SLC, CBE, was among five persons who were conferred with honorary degrees by the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus at the university’s annual graduation ceremony held on Saturday, October 19 at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex in Wildey, St. Michael, Barbados.

The university has provided a summary of Dr. Hunte’s achievements.

“Former mayor of Castries, St. Lucia (1970-1971), Dr. Julian Hunte, has provided exemplary civil service to St. Lucia and the Caribbean for over 50 years. Joining the St. Lucia Labour Party in 1978, he became its leader in 1984 and three years later was elected to Parliament, serving as leader of the opposition until 1996. In 2001, he was appointed to the Senate of St. Lucia and served as the country’s minister of foreign affairs until 2004.

“On the international front, Dr. Hunte was St Lucia’s ambassador to the United Nations (UN) and was elected as president of the UN General Assembly, a position he held from 2003 to 2004. Dr. Hunte has also provided service to the banking and financial sector in his business career as chairman and chief executive of the Julian R. Hunte Group of Companies, with a network of agencies dealing with insurance, real estate, packaging and storage.

“In the sporting arena, Dr. Hunte participated in the game of cricket, in the capacities of both player and administrator at the national, regional and international levels. He served as president of the St. Lucia Cricket Association and the Windward Islands Cricket Board and was a vice-president of the West Indies Cricket Board before his succession to president in 2007.”

Each year the University of the West Indies awards honorary degrees to outstanding persons. This year, the university is conferring 19 honorary degrees: six each at both the Mona and St. Augustine campuses, five at the Cave Hill Campus, and two at the Open Campus.

The honourees are:


* Professor Emeritus Barry Higman – historian/educator, Australia – LLD
* Dr. Janet Rollé – communications Executive, NY, USA – LLD
* Mr. Noel Dexter – educator/musical director, Jamaica – LLD
*Hon. R. Danny Williams – entrepreneur/philanthropist – LLD
* Mrs. Valerie Facey – architect/interior designer/philanthropist/entrepreneur


*Mr. Clive Abdulah – former bishop, Trinidad & Tobago – LLD
* Dr. Elisha Tikasingh – scientist, Trinidad & Tobago – DSc
* Mr. Ian Randle – publisher/entrepreneur, Jamaica – LLD
* Dr. Lakshmi Persaud – novelist/writer/literary commentator, London – Dlitt
* Ms. Marina Salandy-Brown – journalist, Trinidad & Tobago – Dlitt
* Dr. Theodosius Ming Whi Poon-King – researcher/scientist, Trinidad & Tobago – DSc


* Sir. Henry de B. Forde – lawyer/statesman, Barbados – LLD
* Hon. Dr. Julian Hunte – businessman/diplomat, St. Lucia – LLD
* Sir Keith Hunte – educator/public servant, Barbados – LLD
* Dr. Marion Williams – economist/public servant, Barbados – LLD
* Rt. Rev Rufus Brome – theologian/public servant, Barbados – LLD


* Ms. Joan Armatrading – artist, London – Dlitt
* Mr. Robert Mathavious – economist/financial director, BVI – LLD

The Open Campus was the first of the four campuses to host its graduation ceremony on October 12 in Grenada. The graduation ceremony at Cave Hill, Barbados followed on October 19 with St. Augustine and Mona ceremonies hosted on October 24-26 and October 31-November 2, respectively.


No posts to display