Trinidad & Tobago kings of Caribbean T20 for third time

Trinidad & Tobago kings of Caribbean T20 for third time
The Trinidad & Tobago team celebrates.
The Trinidad & Tobago team celebrates.

Gros Islet, St Lucia – Trinidad and Tobago won the Caribbean T20 tournament for the third consecutive year when they beat Guyana by nine wickets in the Grand Final on Sunday night.

Playing infront a large number of their supporters who came to the Beausejour Cricket Ground, the Trinis easily won with 45 balls to spare and maintained the unbeaten record in the tournament.

Their bowlers restricted Guyana to 116-6 off 20 overs. Fast bowler Shannon Gabriel took 2-16 and seamer Rayad Emrit ended with 2-18. T&T batted brilliantly to reach 120-1 off 12.3 overs. Lendl Simmons topscored (52 not out off 37 balls) and added an opening stand of 52 with rookie opener Evin Lewis (32 off 18 balls). Kieron Pollard ended on 25 not out and finished the match in grand style.

The Man-of-the-Match award went to Gabriel, while Darren Bravo was voted Most Valuable of Player of the tournament.

SCORES: GUYANA 116-6 off 20 overs (Chris Barnwell 32, Trevon Griffith 29; Shannon Gabriel 2-16, Rayad Emrit 2-18) Trinidad & Tobago 120-1 off 12.3 overs (Lendl Simmons 52 not out, Evin Lewis 32, Kieron Pollard 25 not out)

2010: Guyana beat Barbados by 1 wicket
2011: T&T beat Hampshire by 36 runs
2012: T&T beat Jamaica by 63 runs
2013: T&T beat Guyana by 9 wickets

(AT QUEEN’S PARK OVAL, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad)
Sunday, January 6
Trinidad & Tobago vs Jamaica – Match abandoned due to rain
Monday, January 7

Barbados beat Leeward Islands by 9 wickets

Guyana beat Combined Campuses & Colleges by 2 wickets

Tuesday, January 8

Barbados beat Jamaica by 5 wickets

T&T beat CCC by 7 wickets

Wednesday, January 9

Jamaica beat Windward Islands by 12 runs

T&T beat Leeward Islands by 95 runs

Thursday, January 10

Windwards beat CCC by 42 runs

Guyana beat Barbados by 42 runs

Friday, January 11

Leeward Islands vs Jamaica – TIE (Jamaica won one-over eliminator)

CCC beat Barbados by 12 runs

Saturday, January 12

Windwards beat Leeward by 10 runs

T&T beat Guyana by 80 runs


Tuesday, January 15

Jamaica beat Guyana by 5 wickets

T&T beat Windwards by 8 wickets

Wednesday, January 16

CCC beat Leewards by 4 runs

T&T beat Barbados by 5 wickets

Thursday, January 17

Guyana beat Leewards by 14 runs

Windward beat Barbados by 4 wickets

Friday, January 18

Jamaica beat CCC 7 by wickets

Guyana beat Windwards by 4 wickets

Saturday, January 19

Play-off: Guyana beat Jamaica by 6 wickets

Sunday, January 20

Grand Final: T&T beat Guyana by 9 wickets


No posts to display