St Lucia to host CONCACAF women’s championship

St Lucia to host CONCACAF women’s championship


CARIBBEAN NEWS NOW – The Saint Lucia Football Association is set to host international football again this month. Mindoo Phillip Park will be the venue for the Caribbean Zone Group 2 of the 2015 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship.

Grenada and Jamaica will be the other two participating teams. Jamaica will open against Grenada on 26 July. Saint Lucia start their campaign versus Grenada on 28 July, and the home team wraps up against Jamaica on 30 July.

The Saint Lucia squad has been training for the past two months, under the supervision of head coach Franklin Dupigny. A number of the players will have some international experience, either at the senior or Under-17 level.

In the Caribbean Zone, 14 teams from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) entered the qualifying competition; 13 are playing in this round. The winners are guaranteed advancement to the CFU finals in Haiti come October.

Three of the four second-placed teams will also advance.

The qualification tournament will decide the participating teams of the 2015 CONCACAF (North, Central America and the Caribbean) Women’s U-20 Championship, which will be hosted by Honduras.

26 July 2015 Grenada v Jamaica
28 July 2015 Saint Lucia v Grenada
30 July 2015 Saint Lucia v Jamaica


No posts to display