St. Lucia names 13 for Windwards Cricket

By Terry Finisterre

 Share This On:

Saint Lucia captain Craig Emmanuel in a fielding drill with the Windward Islands team.

Saint Lucia is set to host the Windward Islands Men’s Senior Goodwill Cricket Tournament from 30 October to 5 November, and the Saint Lucia National Cricket Association has named its final 13-member for the three-game, two-day round-robin series.

West Indies Twenty20 captain Darren Sammy has been left out, but two other players with West Indies experience have been included.

Opening batsman Johnson Charles can also stand as wicketkeeper, and all-rounder Garey Mathurin should provide support for both batting and bowling.

The team will be led by 29-year-old batsman Craig Walt Emmanuel, who has played for Combined Campuses and Colleges and Windward Islands in regional competition.

The final 13 includes newcomers Awen Edward, a batsman, and Loic Prospere, a fast bowler.

A third youngster, spinner Larry Edward, played one game for the senior team at the age of 15, whilst young Taryck Gabriel has had some experience with West Indies Under-19.

Other notable players in the side include Windward Islands and Saint Lucia Zouks players Dalton Polius and Keddy Lesporis, with the latter serving as vice captain.

Alton Crafton has been appointed coach of Team Saint Lucia, with Ryan O’Brian the manager.

Saint Lucia plays all three of its matches at Beausejour, starting with a tilt next Thursday against St Vincent & the Grenadines, followed immediately by a clash with Grenada starting on Saturday 1 November, and culminating with a game against Dominica from 4 November.

Grenada plays Dominica at Mindoo Phillip Park in the first round. Dominica plays St Vincent at the same venue from Saturday next, then Grenada and St Vincent & the Grenadines.

Matches will commence at 9am daily with patrons allowed in at no charge.

Saint Lucia’s final squad in alphabetical order: Alex Antoine, Johnson Charles, Awen Edward, Larry Edward, Craig Emmanuel (captain), Taryck Gabriel, Xavier Gabriel, Keddy Lesporis (vice captain), Dennis Louis, Garey Mathurin, Dalton Polius, Loic Prospere and Jason Simon.

Copyright 2019 St. Lucia News Online. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.


  1. Which community Awen edward from?

  2. As if steven naitram has been scoring alot during trials and yet i dont see his name. Please explain.

    • I don't think anyone scored "a lot" during trials. He made the 18 but was left out of the final squad. You'd have to ask the selectors why.

  3. I hope those guys understand and sign the contract before play.Lol

  4. Maysiay, now why I not on dat side???


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.