Spinners dominate as Jaguars head winners’ list

Spinners dominate as Jaguars head winners’ list
Veerasammy Permaul
Veerasammy Permaul

(CWI) – Veerasammy Permaul almost singlehandedly completed the demolition of the Trinidad & Tobago Red Force’s second innings batting to help Guyana Jaguars extend their lead in the Digicel 4-Day Championship with a comprehensive, innings-and-217-run victory in their top-of-the-table match on Sunday.

Permaul snatched three of the last four Red Force wickets that fell on the final day of their day/night, key fourth-round contest at the Brian Lara Cricket Ground, to give the Jaguars their third victory of the season, which now breaks for one week before resuming the following week.

At Warner Park, the spin duo of Nikita Miller and Damion Jacobs bowled Jamaica Scorpions to a 157-run victory over Leeward Islands Hurricanes.

And, part-time off-spinner Kenroy Williams was the unlikely bowling hero, when Barbados Pride completed a 135-run victory over Windward Islands Volcanoes at the Arnos Vale Sports Complex.

Jaguars (484-8 dec) beat Red Force (120) & (147) by an innings and 217 runs in Tarouba, Trinidad

Permaul claimed 5-54 from 32.1 overs, ending with match figures of 9-97, as the Red Force, starting the day on 108 for six in their second innings and with little hope of saving the match, were dismissed about 10 minutes before the first interval.

The diminutive left-arm spinner formalised the result, when Sheldon Cottrell gave wicketkeeper Anthony Bramble the last of his five catches in the innings.

Imran Khan and Daniel St. Clair, both not out overnight, hit the joint top score of 28 for Red Force, and their injured captain Denesh Ramdin, batting at nine, finished on 22 not out.

Jaguars – top of the standings on 46.6 points prior to the match – earned 18.2 points comprising 12 for victory, two batting points, three bowling points and 1.2 pace bowling points. Red Force – previously second on 41.4 – gained just 0.4 pace bowling points.

Scorpions (342) & (191) beat Hurricanes (209) & (144) by 157 runs in Basseterre, St. Kitts

Left-arm spinner Miller bagged 5-31 from 20 overs, ending with match figures of 10-87, and leg-spinner Jacobs collected 3-65 from 19.4 overs, as the Hurricanes were dismissed about 50 minutes before the scheduled tea break.

Windies “A” Team opener Montcin Hodge and rookie Terence Warde led the way with 30 apiece, former Scorpions’ all-rounder Devon Thomas made 25 and Hurricanes captain Rahkeem Cornwall added 23.

Hurricanes had the entire day to chase 302, but they started knowing they were one batsman short, after former West Indies Under-19 World Cup 2016 Final hero Keacy Carty sustained a fractured right hand.

After they subsided to 95 for four at lunch with Miller and Jacobs well into their work, the Hurricanes offered token resistance in the period after the interval.

Scorpions – fifth in the standings on 18.2 points prior to the match – earned 18.4 points comprising 12 for victory, three batting points, three bowling points and 0.4 pace bowling points. Hurricanes – previous third on 38.6 – gained six points consisting of three bowling points, one batting point plus two pace bowling points.

Pride (360) & (171) beat Volcanoes (222) & (174) by 135 runs in Kingstown, St. Vincent

Williams grabbed 4-36 from 15.5 overs to trump an enterprising 76 from Barbados-born all-rounder Kyle Mayers, as the Volcanoes failed to successfully chase 310 for victory and were dismissed about 45 minutes after tea.

Mayers, a member of the Windies “A” Team One-day squad that played in the recent home series against Sri Lanka “A”, struck nine fours from 119 balls in 2 ½ hours at the crease to collect his second half-century of the match.

Taryck Gabriel made 33 and shared 55 for the fifth wicket with Mayers, but no other Volcanoes batsman reach 20, and the home team was forced to bat one man short following an illness that sidelined Test batsman Kirk Edwards.

Resuming from their overnight total of 148 for nine, Pride added a further 23 runs before they were dismissed about 20 minutes into the morning session.

They however, quickly had Volcanoes in trouble, as the hosts slumped to 62 for three at lunch, including the loss of key batsman Devon Smith, the season’s leading scorer.

They never fully recovered, sliding further to 133 for eight at tea, as the visitors chipped away at their batting.

Pride – fourth in the standings on 23.2 points prior to the match – earned 19.2 points from 12 for victory, three batting points, three bowling points and 1.2 pace bowling points. Volcanoes – previously last on 15.6 – gained just 2.8 points consisting of one bowling point, one batting point plus 0.8 pace bowling points.


Round 1 – October 26 to 29

Jaguars beat Scorpions by 263 runs – Guyana National Stadium, Guyana

Pride drew with Red Force – Kensington Oval, Barbados

Volcanoes drew with Hurricanes – National Cricket Stadium, Grenada

Round 2 – November 1, 2, 4, 5

Pride lost to Hurricanes by an innings and four runs – Kensington Oval

Round 2 – November 2 to 5

Red Force drew with Scorpions – Brian Lara Cricket Ground, Trinidad

Volcanoes lost to Jaguars by seven wickets – Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, St. Lucia

Round 3 – November 9 to 12

Hurricanes drew with Jaguars – Warner Park, St. Kitts

Red Force beat Volcanoes by 10 wickets – Queen’s Park Oval

Scorpions drew with Pride – Sabina Park, Jamaica

Round 4 – November 16 to 19

Hurricanes lost to Scorpions by 157 runs – Warner Park

Volcanoes lost to Pride by 135 runs – Arnos Vale Sports Complex, St. Vincent

Red Force lost to Jaguars by an innings and 217 runs – Brian Lara Cricket Ground


(Scheduled daily start time 10 am, except where indicated in brackets)

Round 5 – November 30 to December 3

Jaguars vs Pride – Guyana National Stadium (9:30 am)

Scorpions vs Volcanoes – Sabina Park

Hurricanes vs Red Force – Warner Park

Round 6 – December 7 to 10

Jaguars vs Volcanoes – Guyana National Stadium (9:30 am)

Scorpions vs Red Force – Sabina Park

Hurricanes vs Pride – Warner Park

Round 7 – December 14 to 17

Red Force vs Pride – Brian Lara Cricket Ground

Jaguars vs Hurricanes – Guyana National Stadium (2 pm)

Volcanoes vs Scorpions – Daren Sammy Cricket Ground (2 pm)


Round 8 – January 4 to 7

Red Force vs Hurricanes – Queen’s Park Oval

Scorpions vs Jaguars – Sabina Park

Pride vs Volcanoes – Kensington Oval

Round 9 – January 11 to 14

Scorpions vs Hurricanes – Sabina Park

Pride vs Jaguars – Kensington Oval

Volcanoes vs Red Force – National Cricket Stadium, Grenada

Round 10 – January 18 to 21

Jaguars vs Red Force – Guyana National Stadium (9:30 am)

Pride vs Scorpions – Kensington Oval

Hurricanes vs Volcanoes – Warner Park (2 pm)


No posts to display