SLISBA awards goes ahead in spite of lukewarm corporate response

SLISBA awards goes ahead in spite of lukewarm corporate response

President of the St. Lucia Industrial and Small Business Association Flavia Cherry says the Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards set for March 23 will take place against a background of worsening economic times and a shortfall in corporate support.

So far, LUCELEC and the Bank of Nova Scotia are the two corporate entities responding positively to a call for sponsorship of the event which recognizes excellence in small, micro and medium sized enterprises.

Over 60 nominees are vying for 22 awards to be handed out when the Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards takes place at the National Cultural Centre on March 23. Corporate support can come through sponsorship involvement or through the purchase of tickets to the red carpet event.

The event is designed to show strong support for the local fashion industry, with attendees encouraged to wear the creations of local designers.

Cherry says in spite of tough economic times, her organisation was moving ahead with its recognition ceremony.

The Excellence awards honors companies and individuals who have created jobs, generated wealth and contributed to the economic and social well-being of St. Lucians at home, while cultivating new markets both locally and abroad.

The awards ceremony aims to be the premier event, representing 80 percent of small, micro and medium-sized enterprises which form the private sector of St. Lucia.

Below are the nominees for the SLISBA Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards 2013.

Small Scale Manufacturer of the Year
Timber Castles
Chem Solution St. Lucia Ltd (Soaps)

Agro Business of The Year
B&P Traders
Plas Kassav
Green Papaya
X-Large Fresh Produce

Agricultural Business of the Year
Christopher Cox
Bellevue Small Farmers

Wholesaler of the Year
Atwell Dalgliesh Co. (St. Lucia) Ltd.
Frank B Armstrong

Retailer of the Year
Builders Choice
Wings of Love
Essential Hardware

Health and Wellness
[Businessperson of the Year]
Eden Herbs
Dr. Gilbertha St. Rose
Natural Health Clinic
Dr. Almus McDowell
Liberty Nursing
Mary Henry

Hair Dresser of the Year
Sophia’s beauty salon
Cecilia’s Hair Design
Act One Studio
Julies Beauty Haven

Barber of the Year
Cutty ranks
Pro Cuts- Leslie James

Service Provider of The Year
Technical Service
Muff Refrigeration and Air Condition
Freddy’s Garage
North West Enterprises Ltd

Service Provider of The Year
Price Waterhouse/Coopers
Diane Raveneau Accounting Services
Stewart and Associates
Claudia Charlemagne

Travel Agency of The Year
Tours n Travel
Hibiscus Travel
The Travel boutique

Service Provider of The Year
Creative Industries
Matrix Band
Diamond Steel Orchestra
Silver Shadow Dance Academy

Artisan of The Year
Crafty Creations
Flipp Design

Food Service Provider of The Year
Hardest Hard Restaurant
Flamingo Restaurant
Van Turkey

Special Awards Category
Best New Business Idea
Jen Moun
Smile Patrol Inc

Young Entrepreneur of The Year
Alberton Richelieu Jr.
Teige Azuk La Borde

Entrepreneur of The Year
Excel Signs
Brice and Company
Ferrands Ice cream

Awards will also be presented to the:
•    Roadside Vendor of the Year
•    Market Vendor of the Year
•    Fisherman/Fisherwoman of the Year

Rural Woman Entrepreneur/Producer of the Year
President’s Award for Membership



No posts to display