SLASA Names 13 to represent at the XXX1 Carifta Swim Championship 2016

SLASA Names 13 to represent at the XXX1 Carifta Swim Championship 2016

69e1150e-c985-4327-8849-3c5ed2ecd7fePRESS RELEASE – In celebration of St. Lucia 37th Independence Anniversary the St. Lucia Amateur Swimming Association hosted its first Independence Swim Championship February 28th at the Rodney Heights Aquatic Center.

113 swimmers from across the island worked towards improving their times whilst others attempted to use this final opportunity to qualify for the XXX1 Carifta Swim Championship schedule for March 22nd to the 26th in Martinique.


Present at the meet was Permanent Secretary of Ministry Youth and Sports, Anthony George complimenting the association on a well-organized meet and encouraging swimmers to seize every opportunity for greatness, Secretary Treasurer UANA Errol Clark, Permanent Secretary Ministry of Health Cointha Thomas, Youth Ambassador Taj Weeks, President of the Senate Claudius Francis and Cabinet Secretary/Chairperson of the Independence Committee Daryl Montrope who declared the meet open.


The final team scores for the day were

1st Sharks Swim Club with 545 points

2nd Sea Jays Swim Club with 401 points

3rd Lightning Aquatics Swim Club with 339 points

4th Racers Swim Club with 201 points

5th Southern Flying Fish with 174 points

6th Sports Academy Swim Team with 68 points

Top Performing Individual Swimmers were;

Girls 8 and Under Boys 8 and Under

1 Allie Capasso Sharks Swim Club 1 Antoine Destang Sharks Swim Club

1 Jasmine Steide Sharks Swim Club 2 Therron Herelle Racers Swim Club

3 Zoe Bernard Lightning Aquatics Swim 2 Karic Charles Lightning Aquatics Swim Club

9 – 10 Girls 9 – 10 Boys

1 Jorja Mederick Racers Swim Club 1 D’Andre Blanchard Sea Jays Swim Club

1 Naima Hazell Lightning Aquatics Swim Club 2 Kyai Taylor Sharks Swim Club

3 Naekeisha Louis Lightning Aquatics Swim Club 3 Nathan Vigier Racers Swim Club

11 – 12 Girls 11 – 12 Boys

1 Mikaili Charlemagne Unattached 1 Allandre Cross Unattached

2 Shalini Joseph Sports Academy Swim Team 2 Akim Ernest Unattached

2 Natalya Guillaume Sharks Swim Club 3 Matheo Capasso Sharks Swim Club

13 – 14 Girls 13 – 14 Boys

1 Katie Kyle Sharks Swim Club 1 Terrel Monplaisir Sea Jays Swim Club

2 Mya Peter Sea Jays Swim Club 2 Jamarr Archibald Sea Jays Swim Club

3 Veronica Brown Sea Jays Swim Club 3 Nyeem Rosemond Sharks Swim Club

15 – 17 Girls 15 – 17 Boys

1 Mikaela Casimir Sharks Swim Club 1 Mark Emanus Sharks Swim Club

2 Tracey Moyston Southern Flying Fish 2 Omar Alexander Racers Swim Club

2 Abigail Brown Sea Jays Swim Club 3 Jyasi Daniel Sharks Swim Club

At the culmination of the day, SLASA named its 12 swimmers to represent St. Lucia at the XXX1 Carifta Championship.

Jaysi Daniel, Katie Kyle, Christopher Phillips, Eden Crick and Mark Emmanus from the Sharks Swim Club, Terrel Monplaisir, Jayhan Odlum Smith, Devin Boodha, Jammar Archibald and Veronica Brown of the Sea Jays Swim Club, Mikaili Chalamagne and Allandre Cross who are unattached and Omar Alexander from the Racers Swim Club.

SLASA commits to assisting these swimmers with additional training leading up to the Championship


No posts to display


  1. I must say congratulations to all the kids and coaches. Job Well done!. However, I need to highlight the point that the south is in dire need of an aquatic center if we are ever able to put up a fight, which I know we can. Kenny, for once do something significant for the youth of the south!!!


Comments are closed.