Sammy riding with Rangpur

Sammy riding with Rangpur

unnamed (2)A total of 82 players, including 19 overseas players, have been drafted into six franchises for the 2015 Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Twenty 20 Cricket Tournament. The third edition of the BPL will begin on 22 November.

West Indies T20 captain, Darren Sammy, is among nine players from the region who will play in next month’s competition. He is set to join big-hitting Jamaican opening batsman Chris Gayle, who is recovering from surgery; Trinidad and Tobago’s Kevon Cooper, Evin Lewis, the embattled Lendl Simmons, world-class off-spinner Sunil Narine; and the Jamaican trio of Marlon Samuels, Andre Russell and Krishmar Santokie.

Notably absent from the team rosters announced this week are marquee West Indies players Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo, two of the most in-demand T20 players in the world, as well as spinner Samuel Badree.

Sammy, 31 years old, has been drafted by the Rangpur Riders. The sole Saint Lucian in this year’s competition, his team will be led by Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan, who has played under Sammy with the Saint Lucia Zouks in the Caribbean Premier League.

Sammy and Al Hasan will be joined by Bangladeshis Soumya Sarkar, Arafat Sunny, Mohammad Mithun, Muktar Ali, Saklain Sajib, Jahurul Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Murad Khan and Rasel Al Mamun.

The northernmost district of Bangladesh will also be represented by opverseas players in the persons of Sri Lankans Thisara Perera and Sachithra Senanayake, Afghanistan captain Mohammad ‘Mabo’ Nabi, Pakistan’s Wahab Riaz and Simmons, who was recently the subject of a high-profile court case in Trinidad.

Gayle will turn out for Barisal Bulls alongside Cooper and Lewis. Samuels, Narine, Santokie and Russell will play for Comilla Victorians.

The tournament runs until 15 December.


No posts to display