The management of St. Lucia News Online sincerely apologises to its readers and advertisers for the reduction in news updates over the past weeks due to issues beyond our control that we can not legally/personally disclose at this time. Thankfully, there was no downtime but we regret the lack of updates due, to as mentioned, issues beyond our control. We thank you for your patience as normalcy is being restored to our daily coverage.

Saint Lucia’s Auguste to lead Windwards U17

By Terry Finisterre, St. Lucia News Online freelance sports writer

 Share This On:

Ackeem Auguste

Former West Indies youth wicketkeeper Ackeem Auguste is one of three Saint Lucians returning to the Windward Islands team for the 2019 Regional Under-17 Tournament.

Saint Lucia has five players in the squad, down from seven in 2018, but still the biggest representation of any individual territory.

2018 captain Simeon Gerson, Dominic Auguste, West Indies Under-16 players Garvin Serieux Jr. and Lee Solomon have all aged out of the competition and will be hoping to make it on the Windwards Under-19 squad.

But the other Auguste, Ackeem, has had quite a year. After leading Saint Lucia to the Windward Islands Under-15 crown in 2017, the gifted and voracious young batsman went on to make the West Indies U16 team, and then made his senior debut for Saint Lucia.

Auguste will be joined by returning players, Keygan Arnold and Tyran Theodore. The other Saint Lucians on the 14-member squad are Udell Preville and Kelleb Thomas. Royce Paul and Ephron Charles are in the reserves.

Windwards finished one off the bottom of the six-team table in 2018, ahead of only Jamaica, after getting off to a strong start with a win over Guyana. Barbados won the title by the barest of margins over Trinidad and Tobago.


1 Teddy Bishop Grenada Vice-Captain
2 Tiron Charles Grenada
3 Divonne Joseph Grenada
4 Yawani Regis Dominica
5 Jedd Joseph Dominica
6 Mickel Riviere Dominica
7 Keygan Arnold Saint Lucia
8 Ackeem Auguste Saint Lucia Captain
9 Tyran Theodore Saint Lucia
10 Udell Preville Saint Lucia
11 Kelleb Thomas Saint Lucia
12 O’Jay Matthews St. Vincent & the Grenadines
13 Luke Wilson St. Vincent & the Grenadines
14 Solomon Bascombe St. Vincent & the Grenadines

Copyright 2019 St. Lucia News Online. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or distributed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.