Saint Lucia among Caribbean countries unable to test for coronavirus

Saint Lucia among Caribbean countries unable to test for coronavirus

(SNO) – Saint Lucia is among Caribbean countries which doesn’t have the capacity to test for the feared coronavirus (COV-19) which is now sweeping the globe with three confirmed cases in the region so far.

Speaking at a CARICOM press conference on Sunday, Director of the Washington-based Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO)
Dr Carissa Ettiene said several countries in the Caribbean can test for the virus.

However, Saint Lucia was not named among them.

“These include Suriname, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Dominica, Jamaica, Belize, The Bahamas and Haiti, also Martinique, French Guiana, Curacao, Aruba and St Martin and the British territories – Cayman Islands and Bermuda,” she said.

She explained that PAHO’s work in the region is to strengthen member states’ capacity to detect, to contain and to manage cases.

“We believe there is some capacity in the region that is necessary to ensure maximum capacity in the Caribbean region,” Dr Etienne said.

Dr Etienne said as of Sunday, there were 86,983 confirmed cases of COVID-19 globally with a total of 2,977 deaths.

Sixty countries have reported cases with five new countries reporting cases – Monaco, Azerbaijan, Qatar and Ireland.

In the region of the Americas, there are cases in the United States and Canada. Brazil reported two cases, there are six cases in Ecudaor, three cases in the Dominican Republic, four cases in Mexico, two cases in St Martin and one case in St Barths.


No posts to display