Prime Minister congratulates President-Elect Tsai

Prime Minister congratulates President-Elect Tsai

4dfaf0cd-a6b7-4319-a724-b90485aab86fPRESS RELEASE – Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Economic Affairs, Planning and Social Security, Hon. Dr. Kenny D. Anthony has congratulated the Government and people of the Republic of China (Taiwan) on the conclusion of their elections on January 16, 2016, and President-Elect Tsai on being returned as the 14th president of that nation.

The Prime Minister met with the Ambassador of the Republic of China (Taiwan), His Excellency Ray Mou, on Monday January 18, 2016.

Said Dr. Anthony,

“The Government of Saint Lucia congratulates the Government and people of the Republic of China in its completion of peaceful and successful presidential and legislative elections on Saturday January 16, 2016. This is in true consonance with democratic principles and the Government of Saint Lucia salutes the Republic of China for this achievement.

“The Government of Saint Lucia congratulates President-Elect and chairperson of the Democratic Progressive Party, Her Excellency Dr. Tsai Ing-Wen for her successful bid. This marks a monumental achievement in the political landscape of the Republic of China as it has elected for the first time a female to be President. We also welcome and congratulate her running mate His Excellency Dr. Chen Chien-jen, as Vice President-Elect of your great nation. We wish them both successful terms and look forward to working with them in the coming years.

“We also congratulate the new members of the Legislative Yuan upon the election, which will now have a majority of its members from the Democratic Progressive Party.

“We thank the outgoing President, His Excellency Dr. Ma Ying-jeou, who has remained a close friend of Saint Lucia, for his continued assistance and good will towards our island nation.

“We are confident that the good relations between our two countries will only continue to flourish in the years to come.”

The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) ticket of Tsai and Chen commanded 6.9 million votes, 56.12% of the total number of votes cast. The Kuomintang candidates got 3.8 million votes (32%) whilst the People First Party gathered 1.6 million votes (12.8%). Voter turnout was 66.2%.

In the Legislative Yuan, the DPP won 68 of the 113 seats, with 35 going to the Kuomintang.



No posts to display