LUCELEC rewards employees of the Second Quarter

LUCELEC rewards employees of the Second Quarter
Employees of the Second Quarter *
Employees of the Second Quarter *

Ignatius Mathurin and Malika Alphonse have been named the St Lucia Electricity Services Limited (LUCELEC) Employees of the Second Quarter.

The two employees were recognized for the period April 1 to June 30, 2013.

Ignatius Mathurin is a Cleaner/Mechanic Helper in the Generation Department. He joined the company in 2011 on a short term contract and was appointed to his present position in February 2013.

He says he wanted to work at LUCELEC because of his desire to have a long career at a reputable local firm. A former Pest Control Operator, Mathurin switched careers after 15 years in his old position.

“I was so excited; happy. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting it so soon. I was motivated by the staff, my supervisors because almost every day they complement me on my work. I don’t wait for my supervisor to tell me what needs to be done, and that is my advice to others, if you see something that needs to be done then go for it,” says Mr Mathurin.

Malika Alphonse, a General Clerk in the Transmission & Distribution Department South also joined the company in 2011 on a short term contract. She was appointed to her present position on March 1, 2013.

Ms Alphonse says being recognized was not a win as much as it was an achievement.

“I would rather use the term achieve. Being awarded was a shock, because I was not aware that I was nominated. I felt very much appreciated knowing that my contribution is recognized,” she says.

The two LUCELEC employees were presented with their awards at a brief ceremony on Wednesday, September 4, 2013 by Managing Director Mr Trevor Louisy. It was also attended by their respective supervisors, Department Heads, and the Acting Human Resources Manager Miss Miguelle Warner.

The Employee of the Quarter award is one of the ways LUCELEC recognises and rewards its Grade 1 employees for excellent work. The others include the Employee of the Year Award which is presented during the annual Staff Appreciation Awards.


No posts to display