Limacol CPL Tournament to be delivered around the globe

Limacol CPL Tournament to be delivered around the globe

The inaugural Limacol Caribbean Premier League (LCPL) T20 Tournament will be beamed into millions of homes across the globe from start to finish, ensuring that the world sees exactly how the Caribbean comes to play.

LCPL organisers confirmed that networks in India, UK, Australia, New Zealand, the Caribbean and the USA will carry the 24 matches which take place over the period of 30 July to 24 August, and that negotiations are still underway to add more countries to the list. In addition, many networks in the Caribbean will show the tournament free of charge on their terrestrial TV stations.

“When we launched the LCPL in February, we said that we were going to make sure that all eyes are on the shores of the Caribbean in July and August, and we are making good on that promise,” declared Limacol CPL CEO Damien O’Donohoe.

“The Caribbean is the place to be this summer for many reasons, and the LCPL tops the list. However, for those people who do not have the good fortune to be able to come and play in person, we are going to see to it that they experience as much of the cricket meets carnival atmosphere and energy that will be pulsating through the region in just a few days.”

O’Donohoe says the interest from media around the world has been strong and encouraging.

“ESPN3 continues to serve cricket fans by building its portfolio of premier events and establishing itself as a leading destination in the US for live coverage of the second most popular global sport,” said Jason Bernstein, Senior Director of Programming and Acquisitions, ESPN.

“By delivering these events on the multi-screen sports network, we are able to give the sport national exposure across a variety of platforms that are easily accessible to the most seasoned fans as well as newcomers.”

The buzz is building around the Caribbean also, and station owners are happy to air the tournament in their markets.

“The news of cricket, in the form of the Limacol CPL T20 tournament, being broadcast on television in the Virgin Islands is most welcomed, and long overdue. I guess nothing happens before its time,” said Andrew Cox Sr., Owner of CBN-Television in the British Virgin Islands.

“The Virgin Islands market is populated by nationals from the neighbouring Caribbean islands. All West Indians love cricket, and those who have the opportunity to follow the games do so. Live coverage is very important to the viewers who cannot make it to the venue as we still want to be a part of the excitement at the matches. There has been an awesome response to the LCPL TV weekly programme and we expect the same from the live broadcasts of the actual tournament.”

While some international stations are still finalising negotiations, fans can watch the Limacol Caribbean Premier League on the following networks:

India – Sony
UK – BT Sport
Australia – Fox Sports
New Zealand – Sommet Sports
Barbados – Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation
British Virgin Islands – Caribbean Broadcast Network
Cayman Islands – Cayman 27
Dominica – Marpin 2K4
Dominica – SAT Telecoms
Guyana – National Communications Network
Guyana – TVG
St. Kitts – ZIZ Broadcasting Corp.
St. Lucia – Helen Television System
St. Lucia – St Lucia Cable Vision
St. Vincent & the Grenadines – St. Vincent & The Grenadines Broadcasting Corp.
Trinidad – Caribbean Communications Network – TV6
Trinidad – CNC3
Jamaica – TVJ
Grenada – Grenada Broadcasting Network
Montserrat – Caribbean Cable Networks
Nevis – Caribbean Cable Networks
St Maarten – St Maarten Cable
Anguilla – Caribbean Cable Communications
Antigua & Barbuda – Antigua & Barbuda Broadcasting Service
Bermuda – Bermuda Broadcasting Corporation

The Limacol Caribbean Premier League T20 Tournament begins on 30 July in Barbados and concludes on 24 August in Trinidad & Tobago.


No posts to display


Comments are closed.