LCPL names its team of the tournament

LCPL names its team of the tournament

The inaugural Limacol Caribbean Premier League (LCPL) has named its team of the tournament.

The team, a playing eleven plus a twelfth man, and in batting order, is:

1. Andre Fletcher (St. Lucia Zouks)
2. Chris Gayle (Jamaica Tallawahs, captain)
3. Lendl Simmons (Guyana Amazon Warriors)
4. Shoaib Malik (Barbados Tridents)
5. James Franklin (Guyana Amazon Warriors)
6. Andre Russell (Jamaica Tallawahs)
7. Marlon Samuels (Antigua Hawksbills)
8. Shakib Al Hasan (Barbados Tridents)
9. Rayad Emrit (Barbados Tridents)
10. Krishmar Santokie (Guyana Amazon Warriors)
11. Muttiah Muralitharan (Jamaica Tallawahs)
12th man: Ashley Nurse (Barbados Tridents)

The side, which includes six players from the finalists, the Jamaica Tallawahs and the Guyana Amazon Warriors, was chosen on the basis of it being balanced and, as a result, theoretically capable of playing a match.

Selections were made from performances in the tournament only past records and reputations were not taken into consideration. The captain was only selected once the side had been chosen.

It was agreed that a minimum number of four matches had to be played by an individual in the tournament in order to be eligible for a place in the side.

The side was selected by a group of individuals brought together by the Limacol CPL for their knowledge and understanding of the game and their in-depth knowledge of player performances during the tournament.

The selection panel was made up of Mike Procter, the former South Africa all-rounder and a match referee in the tournament; ex-West Indies and Jamaica wicketkeeper-batsman Jeffrey Dujon, a member of the television commentary team; Mike Haysman, the former South Australia batsman and part of the television commentary team; Craig Cozier, a journalist with extensive regional and international experience, and also a producer for the television coverage of the tournament; and Billy Bowden, Nigel Duguid, Joel Wilson and Danesh Ramdhanie – all umpires who have officiated in Limacol CPL.

The Limacol Caribbean Premier League took place between 30 July and 24 August and involved six franchises from across the region. The Jamaica Tallawahs beat the Guyana Amazon Warriors by seven wickets in the final, played at the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad.



No posts to display