INTERNATIONAL: General Mills recalling 1.8M Cheerios boxes on allergy risk

0
INTERNATIONAL: General Mills recalling 1.8M Cheerios boxes on allergy risk

cheerios_ap

FOX NEWS – General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company said Monday wheat flour was inadvertently used in a gluten-free oat flour system.

The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume them might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.

The cereal boxes have the plant code “LD.” The Cheerios have “better if used by” dates from July 14 to July 17, 2016 and the Honey Nut Cheerios have “better if used by” dates of July 12 to 25, 2016.

The recall comes shortly after General Mills launched gluten-free Cheerios. Earlier this year the company said it found a way to remove small amounts of wheat, rye and barley that are unintentionally added to oat supplies when the oats are being grown or transported. It started shipping gluten-free Cheerios in five flavors in July.

JPMorgan Chase analyst Ken Goldman said the recall affects about 1 percent of the Cheerios the company makes in a year, and it might make customers leery of trusting that the new Cheerios are really gluten-free.

CLICK LINK TO READ THE ENTIRE ARTICLE

(0)(0)

No posts to display