FRC proclaims five new national cultural heroes

FRC proclaims five new national cultural heroes
From left: FRC founding members; national cultural heroes  (centre) and Paba and Rameau

Joseph Rameau Poleon, a violinist of Belle Vue, Vieux Fort and the late master drummer Athanasius LaBorde are among five individuals who were named national cultural heroes by the Folk Research Center (FRC) on Wednesday.

Flora Granger Chantwel of Choiseul, steel band maestro Lennards ‘Scrubb’ Wellington, and Monsignor Patrick“Paba” Anthony who was the founder of FRC, are the other three who were chosen.

This was announced at a special ceremony at Government House on Wednesday, June 26, 2013 under the patronage of the governor general.

Other founding members of the FRC were also honoured at the event. They were listed as Andrea Bourne, Petrus Compton, Ausbert D’Auvergne, Didacus Jules, Bernard La Corbiniere David Popo, Mary Popo, Kennedy ‘Boots Samuel and Anthony Severin.

The organization was born out of a Study and Action Group led by Anthony in 1972. The FRC was formed in 1973 with the first national cultural heroes being recognized in 2005. They were the late Harold Simmons and Dame Sesenne Descartes. Sir Dunstan St. Omer was recognised in 2007.

Anthony, who addressed Wednesday’s ceremony, gave insights into the beginning of the FRC. A rationale for honouring the five new national cultural heroes was also issued by Chairman of the FRC Board Hilary La Force.

Details of the contributions of both the founding members and the newest heroes were given in citations.


No posts to display