Dr. Rigobert congratulates Ajani Lebourne

Dr. Rigobert congratulates Ajani Lebourne
Ajani Lebourne
Ajani Lebourne
Ajani Lebourne

PRESS RELEASE – Minister for Education, Innovation, Gender Relations and Sustainable Development and Parliamentary Representative for Micoud North Hon. Dr. Gale Rigobert has congratulated nineteen-year-old OMG Ajani Lebourne, on being named a recipient of the prestigious Queen’s Young Leaders Award.

The Queen’s Young Leaders Programme has recognised Ajani from among 60 young people from across the Commonwealth, for his work to empower students to ensure that their interests are represented at a local and national level.

Dr. Rigobert is elated by the latest achievement of the young man, who hails from the Micoud-North Constituency, saying it sends a clear signal to the world that Saint Lucian youth, particularly young men, can rise to greater heights.

Dr Rigobert said she is looking forward to working with Ajani Lebourne, to drive positive change among young people in various communities around Saint Lucia. She also expressed the hope that Ajani’s accomplishment will motivate other youth in Micoud and across the island to always strive for excellence.

The 60 awardees become part of the growing Queen’s Young Leaders community, a unique network of influential young change makers between the ages 18-29, who are coming together and being supported to become an even greater force for good.

Ajani Lebourne is the immediate past President of the Saint Lucia students Council and a graduate of the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College. In 2016, he spearheaded a Leadership Symposium for student councils, which enabled 50 students to learn about democracy and public speaking. Ajani has as one of his major aspirations, to create a National Students’ Centre, which he hopes would become a headquarters for the Saint Lucia National Students’ Council.

Winners of this prestigious Award will receive a unique package of training, mentoring and networking, including a one-week residential programme in the UK during which they will collect their Award from Her Majesty The Queen.


No posts to display


Comments are closed.