Did you know by 1780 11 parishes had canonically been established in St. Lucia?

Le Carénage (Castries), Anse La Raye, Soufriere and Gros Islet were Dominican parishes. Choiseul, Ilet à Caret (Laborie), Vieux Fort, Micoud, Praslin, d’Ennery and Dauphin were in the hands of the Capuchins.

After the devastating cyclone of 1780, when most of the churches and presbyteries were destroyed, and the population was decreased, the French Crown was advised to reduce the number of parishes to four or six. This was done in 1787, but it was met with strong disapproval of the inhabitants who had not been consulted on the issue.

They petitioned the Crown and the following year the parishes were once again 11.

For the sake of preserving the records, the names of the parishes as found in the proclamation of 1788, by which Governor de Laborie notified of the re-establishment of the original numbers. They were Castries; Anse-La-Raye; La Soufriere; Le Gros Islet; Choiseul, Laborie; Vieux Fort; Micoud; Praslin; d’Ennery and Le Dauphin.

Source: Outlines of St. Lucia’s History by Rev. Fr. Charles Jesse –

St. Lucia News Online welcomes our readers to this new feature which will run every Tuesday and Thursday. It is written by daughter of the soil Anselma Aimable, a former agricultural officer and former correspondent for Caribbean Net News, who has a deep interest in local culture and history. Send ideas and tips to [email protected]


No posts to display


Comments are closed.