Dennery Youth and Sports Council Dennery Tape Ball Smash 20/20

Dennery Youth and Sports Council Dennery Tape Ball Smash 20/20

(PRESS RELEASE) – The Dennery Tape Ball Smash 20/20 cricket competition bowled off on Saturday January 25th, 2020 at the Dennery Cricket Ground. The first match in the Competition was played by Dennery U19s vs Ti Lawi Suns which started at 2:00pm.

Dennery U19s won the toss and decide to field

Ti Lawi Suns blasted a challenging total of 124 all out in 18.1 overs.

Alex Regis top-scored with 32 from 20 balls including 3 fours and 1 six. Thadius Faucher muscled a quick 21 from 18 balls and Azard Nicholas chipped in with a quick 13 from 14 balls.

Bowling for Dennery U19s:

Joshua Fletcher, Sharshim George ( National U15 player), Jewelle Simon (National U15 reserve) were the top bowlers taking 2 wickets apiece.

With the Target set to 125 to win, the Dennery U19s struggled to keep wickets in hand as the Ti Lawi Suns made it very difficult for the youngsters. They were bowled out for 77 runs from 19.3 overs.

Top bowlers for the Ti Lawi Suns:
Azard Faucher 4 overs 3 for 12
Dale John & Saqlain Regis clinched 2 wickets apiece.

Azard Faucher was awarded man of the match. He received a Gold Medal and a monetary prize.
Ti Lawi Suns won by 47 runs.

The action continued on Sunday January 26h, 2020 at the Dennery Cricket Ground.

The match Seria vs SDA Church team was schedule for 10am. However, Seria won by default due to SDA not showing up.

The second match at 2:00pm saw Bexon Oval Superstars coming up against On-the-Rock Strikers.

On the Rock Strikers won the toss and decided to field.

Bexon Oval Superstars got off to a very good start but lost wickets in quick succession but managed to post 113 run all out in 19.5 overs.

The top scorer was Marvin Hilaire, blasting a fiery 19 from 12 balls which included 2 fours and 1 six

Orey changoo was in 2nd position scoring 18 runs from 21 balls including 2 fours.

Bowling for On the Rock Strikers: Top of the bowlers was Rick Smith with 4 overs 4 for 14.
Deylan James and Denzel James got 2 wickets apiece.

With the target of 114 to win, On the Rock Strikers started with a blast; keeping the run rate required in check but lost a few quick wickets, putting pressure on the middle order batsmen. They finished the innings with 74 runs all out in 17.4 overs.

Anius Regis was the only batsman to reach double figures before he was bowled by Atanus Albertson for 26 from 33 balls including 3 fours and 1 six.

Atanus Albertson was the top bowler for Bexon Oval Superstars with figures of 4 overs 4 for 18.
Orey Changoo picked up 2 On The Rock Strikers for 1 run in 0.4 overs.

Bexon Oval Superstars won by 39 runs.

The action continues this Wednesday 29th January at 6:00pm with All Blacks Veterans coming up against DCYO at the Dennery Cricket Ground.


No posts to display