Caribbean Association for Rheumatology elects executive officers

Caribbean Association for Rheumatology elects executive officers

2016-05-13 07_46_29-CAR press release 2016 .docx - Google DocsPRESS RELEASE – The Caribbean Association for Rheumatology (CAR), elected executive officers at the Hyatt Regency, Trinidad on May 7th 2016 during the 7th annual CAR scientific meeting.

President- Dr. Amanda King, St. Lucia

Vice- President- Dr. Christophe Deligny, Martinique

Secretary- Dr. Sharon Dowell, Washington DC

Treasurer- Dr. Lynda Tilluckdharry, Trinidad

Two additional directors were elected- Professor Nigel Harris and Dr. Vincent Nwosa (Bahamas).  The existing directors are Dr. Amanda King, Dr. Cleopatra Altenor and Dr. Marie Grandison- Didier.

The meeting was attended by rheumatologists from the Caribbean and the diaspora committed to CAR’s mission of improving the care of Caribbean patients with rheumatic diseases through collaboration, education, research and advocacy. There was also an educational session for General Practitioners and Internists in an effort to encourage early accurate diagnosis of rheumatic diseases and appropriate referral to the rheumatologist. Shared care, with the aim of treating to a target of remission or low disease activity using a patient-centred approach, was also emphasized.

The keynote speaker was Professor Nigel Harris, Vice Chancellor Emeritus, University of the West Indies, currently Chancellor of the University of Guyana. He spoke on “The origins and evolution of The Antiphospholipid syndrome”, a rheumatologic disease he helped describe in 1984 and for which he devised a diagnostic test- the anticardiolipin test, one of the most important discoveries in rheumatology in the last 40 years.

For more information please visit our website at www.



No posts to display