Call for 2016 National Awards nominations

Call for 2016 National Awards nominations

PRESS RELEASE – The National Awards Committee invites nominations for National Awards to be announced at our Thirty Sixth (37th) Anniversary of Independence on 22nd February, 2016.

Such nominations should reach the Secretary on or before 30th November, 2015.

The Society of Honour known as the Order of Saint Lucia was established on 13th December, 1986. The grades are as follows:

1. The Grand Cross
2. The Saint Lucia Cross
3. The Medal of Honour in classes of Gold and Silver
4. The Medal of Merit in classes of Gold and Silver
5. The Les Pitons Medal in classes of Gold, Silver, and Bronze
6. The National Service Cross
7. The National Service Medal

The general public should therefore be concerned with nominations for the following four (4) grades:

2. The Saint Lucia Cross;
3. The Medal of Honour;
4. The Medal of Merit; and
5. The Les Pitons Medal.

SAINT LUCIA CROSS: – The Saint Lucia Cross is to be awarded to persons who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service of national importance to Saint Lucia.

MEDAL OF HONOUR (SLMH): – The Medal of Honour is to be awarded in any two (2) classes (Gold or Silver) to persons rendering eminent service of national importance to Saint Lucia or who have performed an outstanding brave or humane act to a national of Saint Lucia or of another country.

MEDAL OF MERIT (SLMM): – The Medal of Merit is to be awarded in any two (2) classes (Gold or Silver) to persons performing long and meritorious service in the Arts, Science, Literature and other such fields to Saint Lucia.

THE LES PITONS MEDAL (SLPM): – The Les Pitons Medal is to be awarded in any of three (3) classes (Gold, Silver, or Bronze) for long and meritorious service to Saint Lucia, tending to promote loyal public service, national welfare, or inculcating and strengthening community spirit.

Members of the public, organisations, statutory authorities and other public or private institutions are invited to submit nominations for awards to the National Awards Committee for its consideration. Nominations should be submitted to:

The Secretary
National Awards Committee
C/O Prime Minister’s Office
Greaham Louisy Administrative Building
The Waterfront

OR at eMail: [email protected]

Nominations should state the name, age, occupation and nationality of the persons being nominated and for which grade and class of the Order. Reasons should also be given why the person should be honoured with a National Award together with his or her Curriculum Vitae, and a summary of the activities in which he or she has/had been involved, preferably in chronological order.

Nomination Forms can be obtained at the Prime Minister’s Office, Central Library, Post Offices, Sub Collectors’ Offices (island wide), District Parliamentary Offices, District Council Offices, the National Printing Corporation, and on the Office of the Governor General’s website –



No posts to display