BVI’s ruling political party elects new party leaders

BVI’s ruling political party elects new party leaders
Walwyn (left) and Penn (right)
Walwyn, the new NDP leader (left) and his deputy, Penn (right)

(BVI NEWS) – Education Minister Myron Walwyn is the new leader of the National Democratic Party (NDP).

NDP delegates elected him as party leader tonight, June 23.

He defeated Health Minister Ronnie Skelton who was also vying for the post. It is not clear whether any other party members were nominated to contest for party leader.

Walwyn’s reported running mate, Marlon Penn, was also successful in his campaign to become party Vice President.

Penn went up against first-term legislator Melvin ‘Mitch’ Turnbull who is said to have been Skelton’s running mate.


Prior to tonight’s internal election – which was closed to the public – Premier Dr D Orlando Smith and Deputy Premier Kedrick Pickering were NDP President and Vice President, respectively.

Premier Smith had announced days ahead of the NDP event that he would not be seeking to be re-elected as party leader. It is said Dr Pickering made a similar decision for the vice presidency.

Ordinarily, elected legislators who sit as President and Vice-President of the NDP would be the territory’s Premier and Deputy Premier, respectively; once the NDP is the governing party.

However, it is possible for a governing NDP to have a party president who is not the premier, or a party vice-president who is not the deputy premier, BVI News understands.


No posts to display