Add St. Lucia News Online on Whatsapp +1758 712 6700; get major headlines and source us with news tips, photos, and videos

Blackheart Productions, SLFA ready for launch of 2015 Knockout Tournament

Press release

 Share This On:

football-boots1PRESS RELEASE – Blackheart Productions and the St. Lucia Football Association, along with the affiliates of the St. Lucia Football Association, met August 4 afternoon for a second technical meeting to put things in place for the staging of the 2015 Blackheart/SLFA Knockout Football tournament set to kick off on Saturday, September 19 at the Beausejour Cricket Ground.

The tournament this year will be played at three venues: the Beausejour Cricket Ground, Phillip Marcellin Grounds in Vieux Fort, and the Soufriere Mini Stadium.

The tournament will be officially launched with a “champion of champions” football festival on Saturday, August 8th from 1 p.m. at the Soufriere Mini Stadium, featuring six Blackheart champions, namely Gros Islet, Mabouya Valley, Dennery, Micoud, Anse La Raye, reigning Blackheart Champions Canaries, and the 2014 and 2015 SLFA Heineken Fantasy Football Champions Vieux Fort North, and Soufriere, who is also the host team.

They will be involved in a whole-day affair playing one-hour knockout matches with the winner taking home a grand prize of $2,000 dollars, with $1,000 dollars for the second-place finisher.

The draw for the first round of matches on Saturday afternoon was made at the technical meeting of the St. Lucia Football Association, and it brought out some interesting match-ups.

The results of the draw were as follows, with the matches being announced in the order in which they will be played in the first round:

Micoud vs Vieux Fort North
Gros Islet vs Dennery
Canaries vs Anse La Raye
Mabouya Valley vs Soufriere

A number of warm-up and promotional events, as well as playoff matches, will be held ahead of the kickoff of the tournament on Saturday, September 19th at the Beausejour Cricket Ground.

Playoff 2015: Four teams will be involved in the playoffs this year. Anse La Raye, Mon Repos and Choiseul, who did not qualify for the tournament last year, and Desruisseaux who were the worse loser in round one of the 2014 tournament.

Playoff format: The four teams have been drawn to play two two-leg encounters with the winner of each encounter on aggregate over the two legs qualifying for the playoff final.

The winner of the playoff final qualifies automatically for the tournament proper.

Playoff schedule

Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Venue: Phillip Marcellin Grounds in Vieux Fort
6.00 p.m. – Anse La Raye vs Choiseul
8.00 p.m. – Mon Repos vs Desruisseaux

Sunday, August 23, 2015
Venue: Micoud Playing Field
4.00 p.m. – Desruisseaux vs Mon Repos
6.00 p.m. – Choiseul vs Anse La Raye

The playoff final is set for the Mindoo Phillip Park on Saturday, August 29 along with some other warm-up matches. Other promotional warm-up matches are scheduled for Saturday, September 5th and Saturday, September 12th at the Soufriere Mini Stadium and Marchand Grounds, respectively.

The press launch for the 2015 tournament will take place on Tuesday, September 8th from 7.00 p.m. at the Players Pavillion of the Beausejour Cricket Grounds, and the tournament draw and fixture release will take place on Monday, September 14th from 7.00 p.m. at the same venue.

This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers.

One comment

  1. Messi Shakes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.