The management of St. Lucia News Online sincerely apologises to its readers and advertisers for the reduction in news updates over the past weeks due to issues beyond our control that we can not legally/personally disclose at this time. Thankfully, there was no downtime but we regret the lack of updates due, to as mentioned, issues beyond our control. We thank you for your patience as normalcy is being restored to our daily coverage.

27 young cricketers in training for team Saint Lucia

By Terry Finisterre

 Share This On:

(SNO) – The Saint Lucia National Cricket Association has named a powerful 27-member squad to train for the Winlott Windward Islands Under 19 tournament scheduled for Grenada later this month.

The players have been selected initially to participate in trials for selection on the Saint Lucia under 19 team. They will be engaged in a two day practice match this weekend at the Mindoo Phillip Park.

Amongst the number are batsmen Kimani Melius and Johnnel Eugene, Saint Lucia’s two most recent Junior Male Sports Personalities of the Year. Kimani and Johnnel have been defined as much a anything else by the frayed relationship between their coaches, but the two youngsters, a West Indies U19 player and one who came close to making the regional team, are the leading lights of Saint Lucian cricket.

Other young West Indians on the squad include Wayne Edward, Garvin Serieux Jr., Lee Solomon, and Ackeem Auguste. Serieux, Solomon and Auguste are also members of the Windward Islands Under-17 team, which also comprises captain Simeon Gerson, Keygan Arnold, Dominic Auguste, and Tyrone Theodore, all of whom are part of this training group as well.

The training unit comprises players who have been consistent performers in the Massy United Insurance Schools Tournament, the Sandals Inter-District Under-19, and at the senior level in domestic cricket as well. Amongst that number are Jard Goodman, Sanjay Hayle, Craig Elisee, sprint champion Shelton St. Rose, Haniff Antoine, Marlon Remy, Tyrell Chiquot, Jannick Serieux, Xtus Emmanuel, Rahym Joseph, Udell Preville, Matteo Boulogne, Quain Henry, Jaden Elibox, Emmerson Charles, Zayee Antoine, and Tuerius Jones.

This article was posted in its entirety as received by This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of, its sponsors or advertisers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.