20 Caribbean countries to benefit from Olympics broadcast deal


 Share This On:

EFE – The Caribbean Association of National Olympic Committees and the Caribbean Broadcasting Union have signed a Memorandum of Understanding for the broadcast of the 2016 Olympics in Brazil to 20 countries and territories in the region, the St. Lucia government said.

The Olympic committees “will provide access to 12 television signals and CBU (Caribbean Broadcasting Union) members can select the specific content to distribute to their markets,” according to a statement.

CBU outlets will receive customized content produced by U.S.-based ESPN.

“In addition to their preferred feeds, CBU members will also transmit all semi-finals and finals featuring Caribbean sportsmen and women at the Rio Olympics,” the St. Lucia government said.

The countries covered by the agreement are: Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and the Turks and Caicos.

The CBU was founded in 1970 to facilitate radio and television broadcasting in the region and the union’s members currently reach more than 4.8 million people.


St. Lucia News Online firmly discourages any commentary or statements that are libelous, disruptive in nature or incites others to violate our Terms of Use. Any submissions made on our comment section, are solely the views of the individual and not from St. Lucia News Online.

This article was posted in its entirety as received by stlucianewsonline.com. This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical error within press releases and commentaries. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of stlucianewsonline.com, its sponsors or advertisers.